It was great to read Love As A Way Of Life: Seven Keys To Transforming Every Aspect Of Your Life by Gary Chapman.

Chapman is also the author of the now-famous Five Love Languages: The Secret To Love That Lasts. In this book, he shares how each of the following seven aspects applies to all five love languages:

  1. Kindness
  2. Patience
  3. Forgiveness
  4. Courtesy
  5. Humility
  6. Generosity
  7. Honesty

Here are my favorite quotes from the book:


  • Kindness is at its best when we don’t have to stop to think about it
  • Never underestimate the power of kind words to change someone’s life.
  • Initiate every conversation as though the person you are talking to is a friend. 
  • When you don’t know how to show love to someone ask her about herself.


  • Patience: allowing someone to be imperfect.
  • Being patient in one area of our lives helps us be patient and all areas. 
  • Patience could mean the difference between leaving a positive legacy or a negative one.
  • Patience focuses on the problem, not the person. 


  • Forgiveness alone does not restore trust, but without forgiveness, trust cannot be restored.
  • No long-term positive relationships exist without forgiveness.


  • If we believe every person we meet is valuable, courtesy will be inevitable.


  • Humility acknowledges our weaknesses as parents but does not dwell on them.
  • Receiving from others is a way of showing love. 
  • Accepting the help of others is one of the best and most difficult ways of fostering relationships.


  • When you seek to enrich the lives of others you find the most satisfying form of success.
  • The more you give, the more true wealth that you have.

Living With Love

  • Whatever your job is today, it can become an expression of love.
  • We love or fail to love out of habit. 
  • The average lifespan of the “in love” feeling is two years. 

Other Thoughts on Living

  • The most important thing may not be the most urgent thing.
  • It takes time and energy to have an enemy at work.
  • Self-centered living is an addictive cycle that can be broken.
  • Anger should be a visitor not a resident.

Leave a Comment

7 + 9 =